Reviews

What people are saying about Kathmore Guest House




Great stay - Rating 4/5

The hotel was in a great location. Being just a 10 min stroll from the centre of Oban. Room was good with tea &Coffee available in room. Comfy bed and great shower. Our room was very quiet and we had 2 great nights sleep. Lovely breakfastin the mornings. Would highly recommend this establishment.?

Response

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Kathmore, it really matters to me.All the bestMorven

Reviewer:MICHAEL P | Tue 12th Jun 2018 | 6 days ago


Perfect B&B for Oban to Inverness bike ride- Rating 5/5

This is the second time I've stayed at Kathmore on a bike trip. Morven is very welcoming and the rooms, breakfast, and bike storage are all excellent. I'm already thinking about a third visit! Easy to find and close to the town for meals, and just a few minutes from the start of NCN route 78.

Response

Thank you so much for writing this review Andrew. It was lovely to see you again and to meet your wife this time.All the bestmorven

Reviewer:Andrew M | Sun 20th May 2018 | 4 weeks ago


Sehr angenehmer Aufenthalt - Rating 5/5

Super Frühstück, sehr freundlicher Empfang, tolles Zimmer mit sehr geräumigem Bad.etwas außerhalb von Oban, jedoch zu Fuss erreichbar. Parkplätze am Haus.Unbedingt weiter zu empfehlen!!!

Reviewer:Mrs. Ingrid L | Thu 3rd Sep 2015 | 2 years ago


Really pleasant place - Rating 4/5

Really nice place with all facilities and not far from center of the town.Very good breakfast and nice hosts.

Reviewer:Mrs. Danièle A | Sun 30th Aug 2015 | 2 years ago


One Night in Oban - Rating 5/5

We spent one night in Oban and found this B&B Great. Perfect rooms, tidy and warm welcome.

Reviewer:Mr. Luigi N | Fri 28th Aug 2015 | 2 years ago


Superb - Rating 5/5

Can't fault this place, room was huge, doors that don't slam shut, extremely well organised breakfast, and lots of travel tips.

Reviewer:Mrs. Norma T | Tue 18th Aug 2015 | 2 years ago


Excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

Excellent B&B. Lovely place to stay. Room had everything you needed

Reviewer:Mrs. Ian L | Tue 18th Aug 2015 | 2 years ago


bel endroit - Rating 5/5

bien situé et meublé avec gout, un petit déjeuner parfait, un accueil trés agréable

Reviewer:Mr. Pierre B | Thu 13th Aug 2015 | 2 years ago


Nice stay - Rating 4/5

Nice and clean room, nice breakfast and just 10 min walk to the city center/harbour

Reviewer:Mrs. ONINTZA C | Sun 9th Aug 2015 | 2 years ago


Friendly guesthouse - Rating 5/5

This is a small and friendly guest house.We had a comfortable room, the breakfast is very good. Our room wasn't en suite but the bathroom is right next to the room and no queues or collisions!The location is close to the city centre about a 10 minute walk. Good value.

Reviewer:Ms. Janet T | Fri 7th Aug 2015 | 2 years ago


Warm welkom - Rating 5/5

Zeer vriendelijke ontvangst, fijne kamer met heerlijk bed, gedeelde badkamer met bad, alles schoon en netjes. Prima verzorgd ontbijt. Top.

Reviewer:Mrs. Mariska B | Tue 30th Jun 2015 | 2 years ago


B&B very pretty - Rating 4/5

We stayed two non-consecutive nights at Kathmore Guest House in two different rooms. Both they were comfortable and well appointed. Owners helpful and friendly, good breakfast.

Reviewer:Mr. Danilo B | Tue 30th Jun 2015 | 2 years ago


Kathmore - Rating 5/5

Very friendly and well appointed. We were just passing through, but certainly would use Kathmore again when visiting Oban

Reviewer:Mrs. Birgit H | Mon 29th Jun 2015 | 2 years ago


5 star accommodation in Oban - Rating 5/5

Kathmore guest house is delightful as are the hosts Morgen and Keith. Rooms are extremely comfortable with extra amenities like tea, coffee and some cookies. Wish we had stayed longer!

Reviewer:Ms. Edie B | Sat 27th Jun 2015 | 2 years ago


pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

Nice and welcoming stay, comfortable room and tasty breakfast.It was a joy being at Kathmore.

Reviewer:Mr. tony van b | Sun 14th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Conveniant location - Rating 5/5

We first stayed with Morven at Kathmore Guest three years ago, and when we returned this past May, we found the experiance just as enjoyable as the first visit.Kathmore is located close to the Oban ferry terminal, and within walking distance of the center of Oban. With off street parking,clean and comfortable rooms, and a fine breakfast it is a winner all around.

Response

Thank you for taking the time to do this lovely review. It is always nice to see people back again. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Jim B | Fri 5th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


kathmore guesthouse - Rating 5/5

We had a great stay, with a comfortable room, great restaurant recommendation, and hearty breakfast before taking the car ferry to Isle of Mull. Thanks much.

Response

Thank you for writing this for us. We really enjoyed your company at Kathmore as well. Hope to see you back.

Reviewer:Ms. Catherine C | Tue 2nd Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Homely Welcome & Stay - Rating 4/5

Happy with our choice which can sometimes be hit or miss across all the miles between New Zealand all where-ever we rest our heads. A comfortable night and good breakfast.

Response

Thank you so much for doing this for Kathmore. Happy you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Bruce S | Wed 27th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Comfortable, friendly & homely place to stay - Rating 5/5

Just spent a short break up in Oban at Kathmore Guest House, either side of a trip to Mull. We stayed there last year and were looked after just as well this time as last. It is clean comfortable and only a few minutes away from Oban and the ferry terminal.

Response

Hi everyone,It was great to have you back, always nice to see friendly faces returning. Hope to see you next year.All the bestMorven

Reviewer:Mrs. Elizabeth S | Thu 21st May 2015 | 3 years ago


Great B&B - Rating 5/5

Had a wonderful overnight stay in Kathmore. Very welcoming and room has everything you need. It's a five minute walk from the town centre where there was a good selection of restaurants. Excellent breakfast in the morning. I would return when back in the area.

Response

Hello Audrey,A big thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and it would be lovely to see you back.All the bestMorven

Reviewer:Miss. Audrey N | Thu 21st May 2015 | 3 years ago


Great place to stay in Oban - Rating 5/5

We stayed three nights at Kathmore and were very pleased we had. Morven and Keith gave us a warm welcome, showed us around the guest house and made us feel at home immediately. We walked into our room and knew immediately it was A good decision to stay the extra night.The room was inviting well appointed, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was not only very generous but the choice was wonderful and catered for all tastes. The staff were friendly and very helpful. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Kathmore to others. It is central in Oban, you can walk to the waterfront and restaurants etc. thanks very much for a lovely stay.

Response

Thank you Ann for your lovely review. Keith & I are so happy you enjoyed your stay in Oban even if the weather was not very kind to you. All the best to you both.

Reviewer:Mrs. Ann C | Sun 17th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Everything that you need - Rating 4/5

Clean, cozy rooms. Great breakfast with lots of different options. Nice, short walk into town. Definitely would stay there again.

Response

Thank you so much for taking the time out to write this lovely review.

Reviewer:Mr. Jason R | Sat 16th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

As always, a lovely warm welcome from Morven! The room was warm and comfortable. Tea and coffee available and water and wine glasses provided if you want to have your own drinks which is very good. Breakfast is extremely good. A choice of fruit juices, cereal and to choose your items for a cooked breakfast. Tea, coffee and a selection of herbal teas too.A great place to stay!!

Response

Well hello Archie lad,Thanks for this, great stuff. It is always nice to see you both at my door. We always have a laugh together. See you next time you are over.All the bestMorven

Reviewer:Mr. Archie W | Fri 6th Feb 2015 | 3 years ago


Thank you - Rating 5/5

We were travelling to the Isle of Mull from the Midlands and stayed the night before catching the ferry. Morven was welcoming and our room was really comfortable. The breakfast and service was second to none. We would not hesitate to stay again. Many thanks for everything

Response

Thank you Marian for your lovely review and itwould be lovely to see you back.All the bestMorven

Reviewer:Mrs. Marian B | Tue 7th Oct 2014 | 3 years ago


Wonderful B&B - Rating 5/5

We were very pleased to have booked at Kathmore. A convenient spot to the town centre and ferry port. My husband says it was the best breakfast in our two weeks away!

Response

Hi Folks,A BIG thank you for writing this lovely review. Glad you enjoyed my guest House and your stay in Oban.All the bestMorven

Reviewer:Mrs. Shirley W | Mon 6th Oct 2014 | 3 years ago


Recommended - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed our stay at Kathmore. It is conveniently located to the centre of Oban and the room and facilities were very comfortable. The welcome, recommendation for dinner and breakfast were all really good. Our room faced the street and it was too noisy to have the window open, unfortunately. Rooms at the back would be quieter. I would recommend staying here.

Response

Thank you for taking the time to do this review for me. When the council finally build the by-pass they have been planning for years it will take alot of the traffic away.

Reviewer:Ms. Jennifer C | Fri 26th Sep 2014 | 3 years ago


WONDERFUL! - Rating 5/5

Great hosts, great room!We'll be back!!!

Response

Oh thank you so much for doing this for me. It always makes me happy when my guests have enjoyed Kathmore. I love what I do and it is so important to Keith & me that our guests have a good time with us.All the best

Reviewer:Mr. Joe S | Thu 4th Sep 2014 | 3 years ago


2 nights in Oban - Rating 4/5

On our trip through Scotland we stoppend in Oban on the way from Inverness to Glasgow. The Kathmore Guest house is located a bit off the center, but within walking distance to the harbour and restaurants.Very friendly service andclean and fully equipped room with a comfortable (new) bed. Breakfast was also very good.

Response

Thank you for your lovely review. Best not to be in the town centre as there is no parking, it is a nightmare. If you do get parked in the street you have to have a ticket on it before 8.00 am. It is a 10 minute walk to centre form Kathmore.All the bestMorven

Reviewer:Mr. Oliver B | Tue 2nd Sep 2014 | 3 years ago


Family with older children - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed our stay. The Guesthouse is spotless and conveniently located walking distance to the heart og Oban. Our host was friensly and helpful. Our breakfast delicious, with lots of options. Loads of free parking. Nice guest lounge with big flat screen TV (TV also in room). Enjoyable stay, thanks.

Response

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write this.All the best Oban

Reviewer:Ms. Rhona L | Tue 2nd Sep 2014 | 3 years ago


Delightful B&B - Rating 4/5

Convenient location, considerate hosts, clean facility...and good food.

Response

Thank you so much for doing this for us. It really does help when people take the time to write a review for a business.

Reviewer:Mr. Patrick R | Wed 27th Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


Recommended - Rating 4/5

Myself and my daughter stayed here for 1 night recently, a very friendly welcome, very easy to find, super cooked breakfast, very comfy bed and plenty of hot water, well appointed room and only a 15 walk into town centre (great as it does get busy with cars!) Only downside was we could hear quite a lot through the walls. Would recommend and come back again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Alison M | Wed 27th Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


warm welcome - Rating 5/5

a very comfortable room,we were made very welcome and given the key to a lounge next door if we rquired it!

Response

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review for me. I really do appriciate this.All the bestMorven

Reviewer:Mrs. Diane G | Sun 24th Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


All kind of details - Rating 5/5

Lovely guest house. I found all kind of small details I needed:soap, champoo, even a plug for European sockets. Very nice people. And a wonderful breakfast! Good quality for money

Response

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Kathmore.All the bestMorven

Reviewer:Ms. Pilar G | Wed 20th Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


Weekend with family- Rating 5/5

Highly recommend Kathmore Guest House.Very friendly staff.Clean rooms and great breakfast.

Response

Thank so much for writing this review for me. Really do appreciate you taking the time.

Reviewer:Mrs. Annmarie L | Mon 4th Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


quiet and nice rooms - Rating 4/5

all was ok ! confortable rooms, near city center

Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, thank you.

Reviewer:Mr. Michel C | Fri 1st Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


Excellent Place to Stay in Oban - Rating 5/5

Had an enjoyable one night's stay at this beautiful B&B.Room very clean and comfortable. Delicious Breakfast in the morning with everything you could possibly want. Easy walking distance to Oban.Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Mr. Simon M | Thu 31st Jul 2014 | 3 years ago


Oban stay - Rating 3/5

Suitable for one night.Room was small, but comfortable and worked well for our brief stay.Easy walk to downtown area and there was even an Aldi grocery very close by.Friendly hosts and good breakfast.

Response

Guess you were in room 4, it is small but a nice quiet room to the back. I do use that room for singles a lot. My rooms next door you could get 3 room 4's in them but they are more expensive. Like you say for 1 night it is fine. Thank you for taking the time to write tis for me.All the best

Reviewer:Mrs.Susan Campbell C | Wed 23rd Jul 2014 | 3 years ago


Good value - Rating 5/5

made most welcome and well lookjed afterwould highly recommend

Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.All the bestMorven

Reviewer:Mr. Tony B | Wed 23rd Jul 2014 | 3 years ago


Sehr gut - Rating 5/5

Nettes B&B. Alles mit Liebe eingerichtet. Tolles Fruehstueck. Uneingeschränkt zu empfehlen.

Reviewer:Mr. Thomas K | Sat 14th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Excellent overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Delighted with our overnight stay. We arrived late at night straight from the Colonsay ferry but we were very warmly welcomed. The comfortable room was spotlessly clean and we had a very restful night's sleep followed by an excellent breakfast which could not have been improved.

Response

Hello Folks,I am delighted with your review also, thank you so much. It was a pleasure having you stay as short as it was. 30 years experience cooking breakfast has paid off then.Thanks againMorven

Reviewer:Mr. Geoff H | Fri 13th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


a lovely place - Rating 5/5

I very much enjoyed my stay at the Kathmore Guest House. The accommodations were very comfortable and attractive. Although the bathroom was shared, it was right by my room and there was never any trouble with access. The whole place was outstandingly clean. Breakfast was tasty, in a pleasant little dining room. I was on foot, and although this guest house is not right in the centre of town, it was easy to find and not too far to walk.

Reviewer:Ms. ShelaghH | Thu 12th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


One night in Oban - Rating 5/5

Had a very pleasant evening at the Kathmore Guesthouse.Very comfortable room and a good night's sleep.An very early breakfast with good service and very accommodating landlady.If we need a room in Oban again we would not hesitate to make a reservation.Thank you for a lovely stay.

Response

Thank you very much for your lovely review. It was lovely meeting you both having you here. It would be lovely to see you back again one day.All the best Morven

Reviewer:Mr. Colin C | Thu 12th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


double room - Rating 5/5

great reception, very comfortable room and excellent breakfast, loved the garden patio area.

Response

Thank you June for your lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your stay at Kathmore. Yes, if the sun is shinning, relaxing in the garden with a glass of wine is wonderful.All the best Morven

Reviewer:Mrs. June E | Thu 12th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Review - Rating 4/5

Lovely B&B and friendly landlady.Great breakfast too.

Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. So glad you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. Angela M | Mon 26th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Kathmore Guest House - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed our recent stay at Kathmore Guest House.The location is close to (walking distance) Oban attractions, including the ferry. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty and our hostess couldn't have been more accommodating.Everything (except a hairdryer) was provided in the room, a lot more than we needed!

Response

Hi Folks, Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and it would be lovely to see you back. Every room has a hair dryer in the top draw. Do not understand why you did not find it.

Reviewer:Mrs. DanaT | Sun 18th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Oban - Rating 5/5

Morven and Keith and their staff made us very welcome and the guest house is very clean and comfortable. We were just 5 minutes drive from the ferry terminal and a few minutes walk into the town.

Reviewer:Mrs. Elizabeth S | Fri 9th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Thoroughly recommended - Rating 5/5

Our second visit to Kathmore Guest House, so it must be good value. Within an easy drive to the ferry (which we needed), and off road parking.Our room was comfortable, well equipped and spotlessly clean.An excellent breakfast with a wide choice.Thoroughly recommended.

Response

Always lovely to see a returning face. Glad you enjoyed your stay again & hope to see you back again.All the best Morven

Reviewer:Mr. Ken B | Thu 8th May 2014 | 4 years ago


b& b - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.Accommodation and service was first class. It was great to be greeted with smiling cheerful staff every morning.Excellent situation to explore the surrounding country side.

Response

Thank you so much for your review. My girls are the best in the west, I would be lost without them.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert J | Tue 22nd Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


A lovely stay - Rating 5/5

A great accomodation and we had a lovely stay.We'll definately return.

Response

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was lovely to see you back after all these years.

Reviewer:Mrs. Karen H | Mon 14th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Kathmore - Rating 5/5

Just stayed one night at Kathmore.Great welcome, very comfortable bed, good breakfast.Off street parking is a bonus in Oban as well.

Response

Hello Adrian, Thank you for taking the time to write your review . Glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your understanding with my hospital problems.Morven

Reviewer:Mr. Adrian P | Wed 13th Nov 2013 | 4 years ago


Kathmore Guest House - Rating 5/5

Our stay at Oban was excellent.Kathmore guest house was great.Everything we needed was provided.Breakfastswere good &varied.The location was perfect - just a short walk into the main business area where we found delicious food &drink &plenty of good shopping.Would definitely recommend Kathmore Guest House.

Response

Hi Karen,Just want say a BIG thank you for you fantastic review. Glad you enjoyed yourself at Kathmore as much as we enjoyed having you. It would be lovely to see you back again.All the bestMorven

Reviewer:Ms. Karen J | Sat 19th Oct 2013 | 4 years ago


5 star - Rating 5/5

Spotless room,friendly host,very good breakfast,easy walk into shops and pubs

Response

Thank you so much for doing this review and glad you had a good time.All the bestMorven

Reviewer:Mrs. Anita P | Mon 7th Oct 2013 | 4 years ago


top guest house - Rating 5/5

excellent stay clean,friendly,great breakfast ,plenty parking as oban can be difficult to park .will be going back for sure.

Response

Hi Michael,Thank you so much for your great review. Glad you both enjoyed your wee break away. It would be lovely to see you again.All the bestMorven

Reviewer:Mr. Michael M | Sat 28th Sep 2013 | 4 years ago


Loved it! - Rating 5/5

Our stay was wonderful.The location was great, 10 minute walk to town.Morven was a great host and a good cook!

Response

Thank you Joan for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay just as much as I enjoyed having you. Hope to see you back.Morven

Reviewer:Ms. Joan A | Tue 24th Sep 2013 | 4 years ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Family Rooms
  • City Centre
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Romantic Breaks
  • Walking Holidays